Following Virginia laws and medical review
policies, DMV will evaluate:

» Information received in the initial impaired
driver report

» The individual’s medical and/or mental
health information

» The individual’s driving record

» Driver’s license test results and comments
from the DMV examiner

» If applicable, results of the driver evaluation
conducted by a driver rehabilitation specialist

Based on the evaluation, DMV may take one or
more of the following actions:

» Suspend driving privileges
» Restrict driving privileges

» Require the driver to submit periodic medical
and/or vision reports. These may be required
every three, six, 12 or 24 months.

Possible driving restrictions include:
» Driving with corrective lenses
Driving during daylight hours only
» Driving within a specified radius of home
» Prohibition of interstate driving

In cases where the driver’s physician, nurse
practitioner, or physician’s assistant submits an
initial impaired driver report which recommends
that the person no longer drive, DMV sends the
driver a suspension order which takes effect in five
days.

If the physician, nurse practitioner, or physician’s
assistant is unsure about the patient’s ability to
drive safely, he or she may recommend that DMV
require the patient to pass the knowledge and/

or road skills test. He or she may also refer the
patient for a complete driver evaluation conducted
by a driver rehabilitation specialist.

If DMV suspends your driving privilege as a result
of medical review action, you will not be required
to present legal presence proof documents to

reinstate your driving privilege unless required to
do so for another suspension/revocation, or if your
license expires.

If the driver is under medical review, then the
driver may apply for an ID card without proof of
legal presence if the license was suspended for
medical reasons.

Exchanging Your Driver’s License

for an ID Card

If you hold a valid Virginia driver’s license that is
not suspended or revoked you may exchange it
for an ID card. Virginia ID cards expire on the last
day of your month of birth when your birth year
is divisible by five. For example, if your birthday is
August 17 your ID would expire August 31 when
you turn 70 years old, 75, 80, 95, etc. ID cards
cost $10. If you are age 70 or older, there is no
charge for the exchange for your first ID card.

The Experts

Medical review requirements are based on the Code
of Virginia and guidance from DMV’s Medical
Advisory Board. Appointed by the Governor, the
Board consists of seven licensed physicians of
various specializations currently practicing medicine
in Virginia. The Board'’s responsibilities include:

» Establishing medical review policies and
guidelines

» Consulting with DMV on medical issues
related to agency programs

» Reviewing complex medical cases

» Reviewing medical cases contested by the
driver
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Medical

forSafe Driving

The medical review process
ensures the safety of all drivers
sharing the road.
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Introduction

Safe driving requires knowledge, skills and keen
physical and mental abilities. DMV reviews
individuals who may have health or medical
conditions that impair or hinder their safe driving.
The review process ensures the safety of the
individual and all drivers sharing the road.

DMV’s goal is to allow individuals to drive for as
long as they can safely operate a motor vehicle.

In this brochure, you will find information about:

» Your responsibility to provide medical
information to DMV

» The agency’s medical review process

» Tips for reporting a medically impaired
driver

Medical Indicators

Virginia driver’s license and identification card
applicants may request one or more medical
indicators that can be placed on their license.
Applicants must present a signed statement from
a licensed physician or nurse practitioner that the
driver has:

» a hearing or speech

impairment

» an intellectual
disability

» autism spectrum
disorder

» insulin-dependent
diabetes

Medical indicator codes
appear on the front of a
credential under the word
“restrictions” to identify
the disability or condition
to law enforcement. The
code is defined on the
back of the license.

Your Health

When you apply for or renew a driver’s license,
you are required to provide information about any
physical or mental condition that may impair your
ability to drive safely. The Virginia driver’s license
application asks questions about:

» Vision impairments

» Physical and/or mental conditions that
require medication

» Seizures, blackouts or loss of consciousness

» Conditions that require the use of special
equipment

Answering the application questions fully and
honestly will assist DMV in identifying medical or
health conditions that could affect your ability to
drive safely.

Responsible Reporting

In addition to self-reporting, DMV relies on
information provided by licensed medical
professionals, law enforcement, judges, relatives,
concerned citizens and other reliable sources to
help identify drivers who may be unable to safely
operate a motor vehicle.

DMV Medical Review Services only accepts
reports in its original form. Mail your report to
DMV at Post Office Box 27412, Richmond, Va.
23269-0001. DMV will accept a faxed report
only if it is faxed directly from your healthcare
provider, medical doctor, nurse practitioner, or
physician’s assistant to (804) 367-1604 or

(804) 367-0520.

DMV recommends using the Medical Review
Request form (MED 3), available on the DMV
website at www.dmvNOW.com.

All reports must include:

» Information, such as name, address and date
of birth, to help DMV identify the impaired
driver

» Specific concerns or reasons for the report,
citing examples if possible

» Specific information about the driver’s physi-
cal and/or mental condition

» The name, address and telephone number
of the person submitting the report and
relationship to the driver

Virginia law prohibits DMV from releasing
information on the source or reason for the report
submitted by a relative or medical professional
treating the driver. Information on the source of
other reports may be released, if requested.

Review Process

Each case reported is evaluated on its own merits.
DMV is concerned with any condition that

alters the driver’s level of consciousness, vision,
judgement and/or motor skills.

DMV promptly reviews all impaired driver reports.
The agency notifies the driver that he or she is
required to complete one or more of the following
actions.

» Submit a medical and/or vision report from
a physician, nurse practitioner, or physician’s
assistant

» Pass the two-part driver’s license exam

» Pass the road skills test

The driver must comply with the requirements
within 30 days. If the initial requirement is a
medical and/or vision report and it is approved,
DMV may require the driver to successfully
complete the knowledge and/or road skills tests.
The driver is notified in writing and given an
additional 15 days to comply. If the driver does
not comply with the requirements or does not pass
the required tests, DMV immediately suspends the
driver’s privilege to operate a motor vehicle.



